Leading Figure Demolishes Mikel Arteta's Arsenal Penalty Claims
Howard Webb, the former referee who oversees Premier League officiating, provided a detailed explanation of why Arsenal boss Mikel Arteta was incorrect in his criticism regarding the penalty decision that went against his team during last weekend's contentious match with Newcastle United.
Following Viktor Gyökeres's penalty appeal being denied at St James' Park after a VAR examination, Arteta challenged the decision for officials at Stockley Park to intervene. "VAR shouldn't get involved unless there's a clear and obvious mistake," the Arsenal manager protested.
Webb strongly disagreed with this assessment.

Gyökeres went around Newcastle United's keeper Nick Pope during the first half of Sunday's dramatic 2–1 victory. The England shot-stopper definitely contacted Arsenal's forward, but Webb emphasized that he also managed to touch the ball first.
"A crucial element here was that the referee failed to spot Pope's touch during live play," Webb stated on Match Officials Mic'd Up.
"That's why when VAR observed it, they considered it a clear and obvious mistake since Pope's ball contact wasn't initially noticed. This allowed the referee to review the monitor and examine that critical detail himself, leading to his decision: having seen the touch, it's not a foul, so we'll restart with a dropped ball."
Why Robert Sanchez Was Penalised and Nick Pope Wasn't

During Arsenal supporters' outrage over Pope avoiding punishment, many referenced Robert Sánchez's red card for Chelsea against Manchester United this season. Similar to his Newcastle equivalent, Sánchez touched the ball before making significant contact with an advancing striker—Bryan Mbeumo in that case.
However, while Pope was judged not to have fouled, Sánchez received his marching orders.
Webb described the two incidents as "substantially different."
"Pope subsequently places his foot down. He doesn't thrust it forward into Gyökeres," the 2010 World Cup official explained. "There's clearly space between both players after Pope plays the ball, then they come together in a natural way. Pope's movement is standard. It's not dangerous. It's simply a kick toward the ball. The ball changes direction.
"No player contact occurs until after the ball is played, and then the contact happens quite naturally. Therefore, no foul, making it proper VAR usage to show the referee the actual events."
Sánchez, conversely, was considered the instigator. "He approaches with an elevated leg and exposed studs, which connects with Mbeumo's leg," Webb stated. "I believe it's dangerous, at minimum. It must be penalized. There's that slight ball contact, but that doesn't excuse having to punish this type of challenge."