Liverpool Denied Penalty: The Controversial Handball Decision That Stunned Anfield Against Real Madrid
Liverpool believed they deserved a spot-kick during the opening period of their Champions League encounter with Real Madrid when Dominik Szoboszlai's shot struck Aurélien Tchouaméni on his left arm.
A cautious opening 45 minutes reached its climax when the action stopped in the 30th minute. Szoboszlai fired a right-footed shot across his frame into a crowded area as the ball made contact with Tchouaméni. Immediately after the incident occurred, referee István Kovács signaled with his whistle to grant a set-piece from a threatening position.
Following additional examination during a VAR review, it was established that Tchouaméni was within the penalty box when the ball made contact with him. As it involved a possible spot-kick situation, the handball incident received further analysis.
Match officials concluded, according to Amazon Prime, that Tchouaméni's arm remained close to his torso and in a normal position during the ball contact. A significant reprieve for Madrid, though it brought frustration for Liverpool as the Anfield supporters loudly expressed their dissatisfaction with the decision. Play resumed with a dropped ball.
Liverpool registered more attempts than Real Madrid during the first period and recorded superior xG statistics (0.71 to 0.21), yet both teams created only one clear-cut opportunity apiece. Thibaut Courtois made an excellent save to thwart Szoboszlai before the VAR assessment, but
Prior to kickoff, Trent Alexander-Arnold's homecoming to Anfield following his summer transfer to Los Blancos dominated the pre-match discussion. However, he was selected among the substitutes for the opening whistle.